powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, May. 10, 2009 - 6:28 a.m.

Yesterday was not bad. A little windy, but I'm getting the hang of how to secure the booth, it wasn't a big problem for me. Sales were not bad (nowhere near my high water mark, but not bad), and I won first place in the Jewelry category. I won last year too, but I don't think it was for Jewelry specifically. It was best booth or something like that. Anyway, a little ego boost to start me off for the year. Now, I'm fully aware that despite the preponderance of jewelry folks there, not that many of them did anything very interesting, so (and I feel like a jerk for saying this, but I think it's true) there wasn't much competition for me in this regard (in terms of sales, I think there's a lot of competition). But still, I'll take it. And one of the judges came back and bought a pair of earrings-- the highest praise.

They said they liked my use of 'form'. I'm not sure what that means. I think it means they liked my torn pieces.

But my booth is lookin' good, I can't wait for the big show next week.

previous next

Leave a note