powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, May. 20, 2009 - 7:49 a.m.

Yes, ok. The show was pretty good-- not as good as I had been led to believe ("many times bigger than this one! I'll do three times the business there as here", said by another artist at my last biggest show in the fall), but very good nonetheless.

I've spent the last couple of days lounging around, fiddling around with the yard, getting the energy up to make more things.

Oh, also I am pregnant again. I don't have quite the enthusiasm that I did last time, since I now know (in a non-theoretical way) that these things can be highly transient. More of a 'wait and see' type approach. But we did opt to tell all of our parents this time. The MIL is already referring to 'the baby' and 'the three of us', which I find sort of horrifying. Hold yer horses, ma! Right now, ain't no baby. She means well, though-- they're ecstatic.

I got three more kinds of mint (orange bergamot, sweet pear, and candy), and also a pitcher plant. An old friend on Facebook posted pictures of carnivorous plants she had bought, and it revived my long-dormant enthusiasm for them (I'm not sure but I think I may have been the one to instill said enthusiasm to her, actually, back in the day). I should have gone with carnivorous plants when I hit adulthood instead of turtles. But anyway, yeah. I got it at the hardware store-- usually they're in pretty sad shape when you buy them from those sorts of places, but I guess I got there soon after their arrival. It's a sarracenia purpurea, and is happily lurking in a dish of rainwater on the deck now, accumulating and digesting mosquitoes.

previous next

Leave a note