powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, May. 25, 2009 - 7:19 a.m.

Well, we all knew it was coming, and it's finally happened. My mother in law is on facebook. J advises me not to worry, but I do. Not that I do anything very scandalous there, but I may miss my freedom to post snarky things, chat about my sordid, scofflaw past on my old friends' walls, or to be on facebook when I am not, say, answering the phone.

Oh, well. It's seldom as bad as I fear, but I can't help feeling a bit confined anyway. Watched, scrutinized. I told you my story about my parents and the 'novel' the other day, J. Maybe that explains things a bit.

Memorial Day-- was thinking about it, and I've had lots of people in my family in the military, but we don't self-conceive as a 'military family' in the way other people seem to. We seem to keep doing it, but it never quite makes it to the status of a family tradition. My grandfather in WWI, uncle in WWII, my dad, my brother, my nephew, my ex-sister-in-law (does she count?). None of them were/are career soldiers, though.

I hear Volusia County is a federal disaster area. Talked to my mom on Saturday, she was still high and dry, in a good way. Better call again today. My brother was finally going to move into his own place last weekend, but it's been raining the whole damn time, so he's still at mom's.

previous next

Leave a note