powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Thursday, May. 28, 2009 - 7:31 a.m.

I'm sick of hollering neighbors.

Exhibit One: The loudmouth neighbor, when he has said something that evidently pisses his wife off, sometimes enjoys repeating it over and over at the top of his lungs. I guess to annoy her more. He does this at any hour.

Exhibit Two: The neighbors on the corner used to be quiet, maybe there are new tenants, but last night they were out partying on their porch at 11 or midnight. Loud as fuck. George Strait is a great hero of one of them. I didn't want to shut the window because it was warm and I don't want the AC on yet, but these fuckers!

Exhibit 3: The loudmouth again. Sometimes he just lets out what sound like nonsense syllables. He did so just now. How can he be up all night hollering, then be up at 7:30 to holler again? Like a fucking rooster. (Not literally, but one notes a similarity in function.) Acoustically it more resembles an angry cow.

I hate them all. I sometimes hope that they can hear NPR through our open window and that it annoys them, too, just a little.

previous next

Leave a note