powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, May. 31, 2009 - 7:20 a.m.

Geez, what a long night. The lout next door set out to spend the whole night bellowing and cursing at the top of his lungs. All by himself in the trailer (did wife and kid leave him? I doubt it, but one can hope). It started (or I first noticed it when I went to bed) around 10. J thought he might be watching sports-- WWE, I gussed, wasn't inconsistent with some of his comments. But it continued. And continued. And continued. I closed the window, even though we haven't turned the air conditioning on yet and it was still a little warmer from the day than I would have liked. I did manage to get to sleep, but I was aware of it continuing on in the background. Until 2am, no signs of abating. He woke me up at 2 with a "MOTHERFUCKERRRR!!!" followed by "GODDAMNIT" and then he'd pound on something. "GODDAMIT *thwack*GODDAMNIT*thwack*GODDAMNIT*thwack*. lather, rinse, repeat. At this point one of the other neighbors came to the tail end of their patience and yelled at him to shut the fuck up (something I had been dreaming of doing all night, nay, for years, but haven't because he doesn't seem to be an entirely rational human being and I was pretty sure it would just escalate the situation), so he starts yelling at them "FUCK YOUUUU". Goes over to near their house (on the far side of the lot, so blissfully it made the noise quieter for me) and yells. Words were exhcanged. Then, miraculously, he actually stops. I couldn't hear what was said to acheive that result, but if I knew exactly who it was and how they did it, I would kiss them on the fucking lips in gratitude.

Anyway. Cheee-rist. Update, 11:10am. Wife at least is home again. Man starts bellowing. "You woke me up, goddamn you!" bellows the wife back. Honey, you ain't the only one. Seriously, he's poisoned with his anger, doing his best to poison everyone within reach. A sad, sad life.

previous next

Leave a note