powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Thursday, Jul. 09, 2009 - 6:22 a.m.

We're back. Not the best homecoming-- the friends we had come in to visit the cats and freshen their food had dramatically overfed the turtles (despite my instructions that they were to feed them one tablespoon of food on one visit only), and the entire tank was opaque and smelled like sewage. I looked at the food canister, and I think they fed them like 1/3 of the can. Had to change the water IMMMEDIATELY. Bleah. Turtles always act hungry, you just can't believe them.

Also, Ballyhoo pooed all over the garage. Nasty.

And I had some mint cuttings rooting in glasses of water before I left-- they had been tehre a couple of weeks already, no problems, then we go away for a week and nearly all of them died, including one for this person who I had said I would mail it to before I left but forgot. She's been waiting at least a month, now I have to start over. I may just dig up the whole damn plant and send it to her. I don't like that one, anyway.

Picked up a Cuban oregano, creeping orange thyme, African blue basil, and Spanish tarragon at the Germantown farmer's market before I left. All of these I've been wanting for some time. Score.

The visiting kitty was waiting for us on our deck when we pulled into the driveway.

This morning, the genetic test. Finally.

previous next

Leave a note