powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, Jul. 15, 2009 - 9:43 a.m.

Had to get up at 4:30 am to drive J to the airport. I'm an early riser, but that's just too damn early. It throws me off my schedule for the whole day. To the extent that I have a schedule, anyway.

This telling people about the pregnancy has been a great social learning experience for me. I never really knew what to say when people would announce such a thing to me, and have gotten people pissed at me a couple of times when I just looked worried for them/incredulous and said, "Oh, good. Congratulations?" Now I know, here's what you say (and where does everyone else learn to do this?):"I'm/We're so excited! Congratulations! Oh, we're so excited!" And then they follow up by looking excited. Personally, I can hardly muster excitement over most stuff that happens to me (with the occasional exception of new art supplies or getting into a good show), much less something that happens to someone else. Seriously. It's weird to see acquaintances looking more excited than I feel, but whatever. (Not that I'm not happy, but excited? Not my style.) It is a nice reaction to get, and I'm going to practice it for the next time someone tells me they're pregnant. See, I am capable of learning about social interaction, I just need exemplars.

previous next

Leave a note