powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Tuesday, Aug. 18, 2009 - 7:40 a.m.

Our state fair plans are put indefintiely on hold, as the deck guys showed yesterday and tore down our old deck. The cats are very confused. We spent the evening being bitten by mosquitoes and trying to bag up all the sticks that had accumulated in piles around the deck over the past 3 years. There was a lot of good leaf mold under there, and some nice dark compost, which I added to my bins along with miles of virgina creeper that had gotten out of hand around the deck also. And we laid landscaping fabric and gravel-- this job only partially done, to be completed today. They also wanted me to mow, but I didn't. Altogether, a lot of outside work for us in a rather concentrated period. We were relatively efficient.

So today, in addition to spreading the gravel, we have to hang around to make sure it all gets started ok, I guess...plus it's supposed to rain. So no fair! Boo.

I now have 30 pairs of earrings waiting to be sanded and varnished and assembled into wearable form. Guess I should get on with that.

previous next

Leave a note