powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, Aug. 19, 2009 - 8:26 a.m.

The deck is well underway now. Very exciting. We had to finish laying gravel and landscaping cloth yesterday evening, crawling under the half-built structure to do so. Not pleasant. The cats are confused.

Lately I've read 2 blogs with distinctly different approaches. (Well, more than two, but 2 are currently under consideration). Both are by writers (one published, one not, I don't think). One has short, random entries added throughout the day. It's a bit of a satire of the blog form, I believe. The other, which I only read one entry of because it was too long and I couldn't sustain the interest for more in one sitting-- actually I read the first few sections and then skimmed the rest just to see how long the damn entry was--,

lost control of that sentence. Anyway, the model seemed to be a sustained attention around a particular theme. While I appreciate the effort, detail, writing style, and topic, it was too much.

I think I'll go for a walk and brainstorm topics for my jewelry blog. I'm afraid it hasn't been very interesting to read for a while now. But my daily jewelry-related activities are not very interesting. Sand, varnish, glue bits of paper to each other in some visually compelling way, then apply resin. Take a nap. Repeat. Still, I'm sure I could think of something interesting to say if I put a little more effort into it. I am naturally fascinating, after all.

previous next

Leave a note