powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, Sept. 14, 2009 - 8:13 a.m.

We ended up not going shopping. Darn.

Nothing to report, really. Yesterday, we cleaned the house somewhat, visited with the in-laws, and I napped. Then watched TV.

I'm making a spreadsheet to compare sales of item types across shows. For example, this show I just did, I sold 19 pairs of my $20 earrings. In the new collection, only 7 pairs sold, but they're at a higher price point, so it was actually $270, only about $100 less, really. That's not so bad. Pendants are another story. I don't know why people don't want the necklaces from the new collection. I think they're fab. Only sold 3, vs. about 20 of my lower-priced pendants. Dollar-wise, not even close. Although I suppose if you exclude the initial pendants from consideration and compare $20 earrings to $20 pendants and new collection earrings to new collection pendants, the proportion is about the same, earrings outsell pendants about 2 to 1. Well, at this show. It's just one data point.

People do love the words on things. I wonder how much of it is just the appeal of the things with words? As opposed to the style and/or price. Of the collections with words, only 7 of the 19 earrings were text-free, and 4 of the 9 pendants.

I bet this makes for boring reading. Sorry.

Should go for a walk.

previous next

Leave a note