powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, Sept. 16, 2009 - 8:07 a.m.

Did a nice piece of calligraphy that I wanted to show off on my other blog, but my printer/scanner is denying that it knows anything about scanning. "No options for scanning", it says. Like hell! What's with the 'scan' button, then? Stupid printer. And just when my computer support dept has gone off for a 3-week gallivant to Sheffield, Leeds, UMass, and Buffalo. (And Albany? Is Albany on the itinerary too? Probably.) Grr! I haven't tried unplugging it and plugging it back in yet, I'm too busy complaining. But maybe that'll work.

Several months ago I bought a new nib for my pen, and never got around to trying it. I have just a few nibs I use often, and this one didn't look all that different from them, so I didn't think it would be that dramatically different. But wow! It's incredible! It positively glides over the paper (my crowquills tend to get hung up on certain strokes), and can do even smaller letters. Very exciting. More calligraphy today.

I've seen other calligraphers make impromptu pens out of things-- interesting things, unusual materials. Whenever I try to do it, the pen just won't write. There'll be a big glob of ink at the beginning, but then it abruptly peters out. I want to know the secret.

But we've always known I have no stylus.

Hah.

previous next

Leave a note