powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Saturday, Sept. 19, 2009 - 7:32 a.m.

I was all set to go to the calligraphy guild meeting this morning, but then all the human contact at the Rosh Hashanah dinner took it out of me, and I don't want to talk to anyone in person again for at least a week. The dinner was nice and all; I'm just anxious/ afflicted that way. So no calligraphy guild.

I started the fabulous necklace. It's hard to lay out, hard to know how it'll look when it's done. It looks a bit more...miscellaneous...than other necklaces I've done, but I don't know that that's a bad thing. People seem to like some degree of miscellanity. By 'miscellaneous', I mean that it has lots of little moving parts. I think it'll be cohesive in the end, I just don't want it to be too 'crafty'. But I've already spent 3 1/2 hours on it + 2 feet of wire, and a long way to go yet, so all I can do is hope that in the end, it looks like it's worth what I'll have to ask for it. I did manage to incorporate some text, that's a plus. Also, I think the general idea will work well for less elaborate necklaces (ones that just have decorative stuff at the very front, rather than all the way round). That'll be useful. If it works at all.

A friend at the dinner gave me a sock zombie for the parasite. That was wonderful; a sock zombie is exactly the sort of thing that I'd wish someone would buy me, but which I never thought anyone actually would. Awesomesauce.

There, I said it, awesomesauce. I've been repressing the urge to say that for weeks now. I can't figure out where I picked it up (other than somewhere on the net, obviously), but I can't seem to get rid of it. I promise I will not say it aloud.

previous next

Leave a note