powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Thursday, Sept. 24, 2009 - 7:15 a.m.

Yesterday, my big achievement was completing the lettering on the calligraphy piece for J. I think I worked on it for about 4 hours straight (5 hours total-- there was some preliminary messing about)-- warming up, figuring out how I wanted the letters to look, laying it out, putting it on the final paper, screwing it up (I always screw it up at least once), redoing it. I don't think it looks like it took 5 hours, but I'm very happy with it. Well, part of that 5 was, as I said, warming up, going through sheets of scrap paper to practice-- I even made a new soda can pen in case I wanted to use that sort of thing (in the end, I did not). So a lot of it was me just fooling around. A productive sort of fooling around. Now I just have to put some finishing touches on it.

I like calligraphy. It makes me happy.

I don't remember anything I did before that yesterday. Today it's raining. I think the milk has gone bad already. My tea doesn't taste quite right, but I'm going to drink it anyway because I only have about 1 more cup's worth of the leaves for this kind (Koilamari Assam). After that it's all Hattiali Estate, which I'm not really that into. I just don't care for fine cut teas. I'm not sure why; I do brew them properly. But still, I've never liked any of the ones I've tried. I should probably give up on that (despite their affordable price and quick brewing time).

previous next

Leave a note