powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Friday, Oct. 09, 2009 - 7:41 a.m.

Second posting of the morning! Lucky yall.

Really I'm just back to feel sorry for myself. I indulge in that sometimes. Move along if you know what's good for you. You don't want to read this. Trust me.

a) the gallery owner's comments are still bugging me, despite logic.

b) I watched an installment of PBS' "Craft in America" and questioned my existence. I'm not working in a tradition. Is my work less intrisically valuable because of that? Are my objects as well-made as I like to think? Am I kidding myself?

c) The advertising thing I paid for an ad in came out-- I've gotten looks but no orders. On the message board, someone reported having 22 orders between the print ad, her ad on the website and the coop ad she did in another trade magazine. I looked at her stuff. It is so boring. Little silver charms with words stamped on them. A chain with a little silver charm, a bead, and a gold charm in some shape. Seriously? People go for this in droves? No wonder I'm fucked.

I know, I have no way of knowing whether she really had that many orders. But others are reporting one, three, several. I have none.

I don't market myself as well as I should, I know that. I should fix what I know can be fixed before whining about stuff like this. If my market is not a mass market, I need to do better with finding and keeping the customers who do love my work, instead of constantly tweaking my designs in the hope therein is the ultimate answer.
It isn't! The answer is marketing. Probably.

I keep having the urge to reopen my Etsy shop. I can't; not yet. I can't just flail around like that. Long-term strategy.

Ok. Last farmer's market art fair tomorrow (by when it will have stopped raining. I hope.) Got things to varnish, earrings to assemble.

previous next

Leave a note