powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, Oct. 19, 2009 - 7:25 a.m.

Made apple maple jam with the apples. It's very good. The last few things I've made have all been the no-pectin-added type of thing, just cook it down until it gels. It takes a lot longer, but really, the flavor is much more concentrated. Yum. I may be a convert.

Was cruising along fine yesterday until we went for the walk. Walked up to the grocery store (about 40 min at my slowed-down pace), and when we got there and I sat down, started to have these contractions. Now, some amount of contractions are par for the course-- Braxton Hicks, not a big deal. Can be caused by dehydration or various sorts of routine jostlings. Not a big deal unless, the books tell me, you have more than 4 in an hour, in which case you should probably call your doc. I was having one every 3 minutes. I sucked down a quantity of water and noticed that once I got off my feet, the Inhabitant was becoming very busy with the kicking and whatnot, so I figured I'd wait for her to take a nap and see if it stopped. But it kept on, these contractions. After a half hour, J went to get the car to come get me, and we vowed that when I got home, I'd call the doc. The stupid things went on the whole time he was gone. Some rather strong, though none were painful. (What was painful was that the store had Fox News on their TV in front of which I was planted, and Karl Rove came on. Come to think of it, maybe that's what set my muscles off. They were obviously objecting to something.) Then when I got up to leave, I got a cramp in my back, of all places. Stupid body. But anyway, by the time we got home, the actual contractions had stopped. I laid down, all was well. Other than that I was now exhausted. You gotta figure, an hour's worth of reps by a mostly previously unused set of muscles is a good workout.

Guess I should have tried changing positions earlier, but we were at the grocery store, in a coffeeshop type setup they have-- not exactly a lot of options.

Moral of the story: no more long walks for me. I had been working out on the elliptical, no problems at all. Dunno. It's all very mysterious.

Told my mom the middle name we've chosen. She doesn't like it either. The nice thing about my mom is that I can then tell her to suck it up and get used to it, in exactly those words. It would have been nice if one relative liked it, but oh well. They just don't share our vision.

previous next

Leave a note