powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Tuesday, Oct. 27, 2009 - 8:18 a.m.

Ahhh, home again, home again.

A) Went to the BBQ place in Dyersburg that I love. Neil's. I don't know what they do to their fries, but they come out flaky and crisp. I suspect they bread them. Chicken-fried fries, like. I don't care, I love them. And we haven't had any meat there yet that we don't like. Mmm. I didn't get ribs this time (went with pulled pork sandwich), but next time, ribs.

B) I only gained a pound and a half while staying with my in-laws. This is a first. I hesitate to say it, but this pregnancy metabolism rocks. Normally it would be 5 pounds, minimum.

C) The cats are all still alive, although when we pulled into the garage, Persistence seemed to be hiding in the garage from Vindaloo.

D) Doc app't today. I have to do the blood sugar test, which involves rapidly drinking a disgusting sugar drink, which is orange in color. I hope it isn't also orange ("orange") in flavor. I've always hated orange drink.

E) I had a dream that I went to visit the Old Fort Park in NSB. It wasn't actually a fort, but the coquina foundation of the house of the colony's founders, which at some point got bombed into nonexistence, leaving only an intriguing assortment of coquina walls/ what had been storage rooms but are now pits (very fun to climb around in if you're young and nimble). I used to play there all the time, what with living across the street from it. Anyway, in my dream, they (the brilliant city govt) had decided that it would be good to bring in alligators. So there were scores of alligators hanging around, and of course if it was warm at all they were energetic and came chasing people. At least it seemed that way; maybe they wre just begging like ducks/turtles do. I had to warn off several people with small children that they should probably not go in. I was sad, because who can enjoy the park when it's teeming with alligators? I mean, really. That was as stupid as when the city gov't removed the duck pond, ducks, and nearly all the trees from the Duck Pond Park.

9:22a.m.-- am now drinking the glucose solution for the blood sugar test. It is "orange" flavored (gak), but I must note that I've had sweet tea (i.e., southern Sweettea) that's sweeter than this. Never at 9:20 a.m., though.

previous next

Leave a note