powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Saturday, Oct. 31, 2009 - 10:56 a.m.

Happy Halloween!

I don't really have a costume this year. I wish I had an alien-clawing-out-of-abdomen attachment I could use, that would be cool. But I do not. Probably the best I can do is pregnant pirate wench.

Discovered a new pumpkin app: atole de calabaza. I don't know if I did it right, but it's good-- sort of like pumpkin hot cocoa, but with no cocoa. Heat milk in pan. Stir in squash puree to taste. Add molasses, brown sugar, cinnamon to taste. Drink up. May try it as my new late evening calorie infusion (which I apparently need to prevent head spins when I lay down).

Farmer's market today. I bought, if you can believe it, two more squash: a Fairy Tale Pumpkin (J had been bemoaning our failure to acquire one of these on our Great Pumpkin Run, and they were on sale! I got a huge one for just $3) and a Seminole pumpkin (a variety I may grow next year, so of course I had to try it out first, right?). That makes 12 kinds of squash I have on the premises right now (well, one is in the compost-- the Jarrahdale started to go already). I think I may need help (psychiatric or culinary, not sure which).

previous next

Leave a note