powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Tuesday, Nov. 10, 2009 - 7:36 a.m.

I finally got started on this batch of photo albums I'm making-- two for my shower hostesses (shower is the 21st), one for my mom, and at least one for me to put some of these old pics in that I've been scanning. Except, when I went to the art supply store, they were out of Davy board (acid-free, heavy weight bookbinding board for covers), and won't be getting any for weeks.

I actually have a sheet of Davy board, but I've been using it as an improvised cutting mat and covering it with mounds of little tiny bits of paper, beads, and bits of wire for months (years!) now. It's to the point that my actual work space on it is about 5 square inches, the rest is detritus (possibly useful detritus, but a massive jumble nevertheless). Should I attempt to excavate it? Or should I just drive an hour to Indy to buy Davy board there?

Gonna try excavation in the interest of not being completely silly, but we'll see what happens.

Also in the Completely Silly category, we went to Lowe's last night to buy further shelves for the studio and some lighting-- we wrangled for at least a half hour over whether track lighting would work and what kind of track lighting and what lightbulbs to get, and whether J could install it without there being an electrocution of somebody at some point. Then we get home to find that we bought a 4ft track to go in a 3.5 ft space. What's more, that was the shortest track they had, so my drafting table lighting issues remain completely unresolved. I'll go blind before we figure this out.

previous next

Leave a note