powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, Nov. 30, 2009 - 8:13 a.m.

I also got a cold at the show, apparently. Yesterday thought it might just be allergies (leaving 3 cats cooped up for a week may have dramatically different effects than leaving only 2 cats for a week), but today, it's definitely a cold. Of the nose-as-irrigation-system variety. *sigh*

Other than that, spent the whole day yesterday either working on the remaining pieces for that wholesale order, or avoiding doing so. Today, more of that, only with alphabet pendants.

Oh, I had a funny anecdote from the trip/shower. My mil had made a cake, a beautiful chocolate cake. It sat in the fridge all week, untouched after we had done our initial damage (about 1/4 eaten). Finally the night before our Thanksgiving meal, she takes it out, concluding that she would have to throw it away because a) it seemed like we were done with it and b) she needed the fridge space. After all, we were about to have Thanksgiving and would all be leaving the next day. But my mom was there. Now, I know it may not seem like it, but I've learned to tone down my reactions to such things, especially when the logic is clear and irrefutable. I mean, I personally would have pushed the cake a little harder on the guests to make sure as much as possible would get eaten, or frozen some of it earlier on, but what can you do? Sometimes you need to make room for fresh food. It pains me, but in this case, I'd understand. My mom, though. Not so much. It was mom in top form. "You're going to throw out that WHOLE CAKE? That would be a CRIME to throw that out! There are so many people out there who would love to have that!" Etc etc. MIL: "Well, would you like to call any of them to come and get it? Because I don't have room for it in the fridge anymore." At which point J came into the living room to point out to me the extent to which I am my mother's daughter. So true, at least in this respect. Can't help but laugh. (My mom ate a piece then and there to do her part; the cake stayed the night out on the table and then mysteriously disappeared the next day.) My mom will, I'm sure, also go home to tell everyone she knows the story of how MIL threw out That Whole Beautiful Cake.

previous next

Leave a note