powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, Dec. 06, 2009 - 8:10 a.m.

Sunday review of squash:
The banana squash was a bit of a disappointment. I had read somewhere that it was better than Hubbard, but it's not. Not much worse, mind you, but not better. Not as sweet. It was easier to cut into, which is admittedly a bonus. But something about the smell of it when it was roasting reminded me of the smell of a horse stable-- not manure, it wasn't that bad, but...horse feed? Alfalfa cubes? Doesn't taste like that, luckily.

However frozen my pumpkins were yesterday, today it's worse: 14 degrees right now. I'm gong to bring in the other hubbard so it will have time to thaw before I can start to butcher it.

Made some pumpkin sorbet. It's in the ice cream machine now; I suspect it will be tasty.

previous next

Leave a note