powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, Dec. 09, 2009 - 8:37 a.m.

Today, that storm is coming in. The big windy one. Not expected to be a blizzard here, but when it goes, it will be cold as fuck (or at least what a Floridian in Indiana would describe as cold as fuck).

I managed to get outside and rake some leaves yesterday-- had to cover the pumpkin carcasses in the compost. Anyway, I'm glad I did, since it doesn't sound like there'll be anything resembling weather to rake in for some time. I also have a small bag of tea leaves and other assorted compost that needs to go out in the bed in the yard, better do that today too.

The work on our room progresses. It's beginning to look almost civilized in there. Almost! Many bags of stuff to be donated to Goodwill, and what seem like vast open spaces left where the stuff once was. I can see the floor in the closet! I'm sure it'll all be filled in again soon, but for now it feels very novel. Almost like having a new house again.

Oh! And my nepenthes is pitchering again. And again! Got one almost fully developed, and another beginning to form. So cool. And my sundew, the only other carnivorous plant that didn't go into dormancy, is thriving under the artificial light-- Some little tendrils coming out now that I suspect are flower stalks. I hope I can get more carnivores next year. They are the epitome of awesome.

previous next

Leave a note