powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, Jan. 20, 2010 - 10:48 a.m.

Still on the stupid light blanket. Going the right direction, though, should be off of it tomorrow, inshallah. (yes, i said 'inshallah'. what of it?)

J's colleagues organized to bring us food nearly every night. Super nice. I would never have thought to do that, but now that I know how needed/appreciated it is, I will definitely do the same for anyone I know having a baby. Wonderfully generous of them all.

my weight is now 6 lbs less than it was at beginning of pregnancy. Pregnancy is not known as a great dieting strategy for most people, but I'll not complain. Only problem is that my maternity pants with the nice comfy waist that doesn't bother my incision, they fall off me now in a big way.

Another plus I may or may not have mentioned here, the heartburn vanished overnight. *relief*

They talk about women having the 'baby blues' postpartum. I won't claim to be immune to periods of hormonally-induced crying at this time-- mostly in early morning hours when safely alone with the baby-- but I am happy to say they feel nothing like depression, or even 'blues'. Just overwhelming feelings of love tempered with a dose of fear upon thinking of all of life's pitfalls ahead of her. From the spectre of acquiring a bad body image in adolescence to broken hearts, and of everything else that can go wrong. Welcome to motherhood, eh? I might as well get used to it, I suppose. I hear it doesn't go away.

previous next

Leave a note