powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, Feb. 08, 2010 - 6:16 a.m.

Got some work done yesterday! Boring work-- cutting wire into 2 inch and 1 3/4 inch lengths-- but nevertheless. Work! It's amazing how much more quickly and single-mindedly I work now when I get a chance. It's like there's an implicit timer that may go off at any moment, but I don't know when, and my challenge is to finish the task at hand whether I have 5 minutes or an hour. It really does lead to efficiency! I think I cut enough silver wire to last me the season. Or nearly. Unless I have a really good season (let's hope).

The really creative work won't be able to fit into that sort of structure, though. Not sure when I'll have a stretch long enough to get into The Zone again. I'm going to be doing a little calligraphy for the birth announcments; we'll see how that goes.

previous next

Leave a note