powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Thursday, Feb. 11, 2010 - 7:53 a.m.

I have the thermos song from "The Jerk" stuck in my head. I love that movie-- it's one of the few that I find hysterically funny every time I see it, even though I've seen it a bazillion times at this point. There aren't very many movies like that. "The Jerk" really stands the test of time.

I heard today about a college student who was detained at an airport for several hours because he was making "suspicious notations" on cards. Those cards? Turned out to be vocabulary flashcards. He was studying Arabic.

A script can be dangerous! People think the alphabet is just the alphabet, but this sort of thing demonstrates otherwise.

Our neighbor (the one who I'm complaining about because he's a responsible, pro-active homeowner, not the loud one with the sad kid-- they haven't come back since the fire) shoveled our walk for us yesterday. That was nice!

Oh! And the other school made the offer it needed to make-- we'll be moving! Not for a year and a half probably, but still! It's exciting in a hurry-up-and-wait sort of way.

previous next

Leave a note