powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Saturday, Feb. 27, 2010 - 4:31 p.m.

The baby sleep saga, continued:

So we try putting her in the bassinet last night-- after a nice bath, nursing session, and not-so-nice inexplicable screaming session-- and by gosh she slept! For about 5 hours total, 4 of them in the bassinet. That's about as good as it gets, folks. And then J took her downstairs and she slept another three in the pack and play! The only downside to all this is that when she was sleeping for those four luxuriant hours in the bedside bassinet, I was there next to her, completely unable to go so sleep. I just laid there with my hand on her (necessary to keep her asleep). Wide awake. Not really the effect I was hoping for. Also had trouble sleeping when J took her, so I basically got about 2 hours sleep last night, even though it was Spigotbottom's best sleep night yet.

Ready to try it all again tonight-- perhaps I'm sufficiently exhausted now that I will manage to drop off this time. I'm also hoping that her excellent sleep was not entirely connected to the exhausting screaming episode. Don't really want that to become part of the bedtime routine.

I'm back to fitting properly in my skinny pants, the ones that last fit me when I had that exhausting semester that caused me to waste away, teaching English. Awesome! Someday I'll get to go out in public again and will have a chance to wear them.

previous next

Leave a note