powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Tuesday, Mar. 02, 2010 - 10:07 a.m.

The in laws have now optimistically suggestd that we just stay through till Passover rather than come home for a week and a half and then drive back again. Or rather than not come down for Passover. Staying through would put us there for a whole month at least.

I could enumerate the reasons why I don't want to do that, but I won't bother. They all boil down to I can't be away from my space and my stuff for that long without it really getting to me. No matter how hard they've worked to make a comfortable space for us in their home (which they have! Put a lot of effort into it, which I do appreciate. But still.) I like my stuff, my space, my daily rhythms. I need tham. I'm just not flexible enough to up and go elsewhere for a month at a time.

Have you ever dreamed about reading? I have always had these dreams where I'm reading the best book ever, just really enjoyable, but when I try to closely examine the page for specifics, it's all just a jumble of letters. That's kind of where I'm at with my ideas for calligraphy pieces (I know I want some text to go here, and it should look a certain way, but who the hell knows what it should say), so I may just do that. Have it laid out how I want it, have the lettering convey the mood I want it to convey, but have it not say anything. Just a symbolic jumble. I can bring in some other scripts if I want. It'll do for practice and for satisfying my urge to scribe. Who knows, it may even work artistically to some extent. Or it might not. Whatever. (Just relax, stop trying to be Denis Brown).

previous next

Leave a note