powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Friday, Mar. 26, 2010 - 11:41 a.m.

Everything is going fine. Have managed to get some resin applied to jewelry-in-progress. That makes me feel surprisingly back in control (even as I'm shamelessly slacking on other things).
Spent my Dick Blick gift certificate, blew the whole thing on gesso, varnish, and acrylic medium. We'll see what comes of it. I've only ever been to a Dick Blick store once, the one in Chiago, where I was so overwhelmed by the sheer bulk of art supplies that I just wandered through the aisles for a really long time, arousing the suspicion of the security guard, who kept following me around and finally engaged me in conversation about whether or not he could help me. He couldn't, but he still kept following me around. It made me so uncomfortable, I curtailed my shopping (buying about half of what I had intended to, just so he wouldn't see me leaving with nothing and assume he had been right about me) and left. I know it was just his job, but really. Surely I'm not the only indecisive artist to spend waaaayyy too much time wandering around in a daze in there. If he was really good at his job, he'd have been more subtle. I still kind of hold it against them, and hope to never shop at one of their stores again. Instead I prefer small, locally-owned retailers or online specialty stores. But this was a gift certificate, and they already have our money, so. Gesso it is.

previous next

Leave a note