powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Tuesday, Apr. 13, 2010 - 7:43 a.m.

Squash planted. I think the trellis is way too small and it will run over into the yard anyway. Oh, well. I'll just have to compost it and water it well so that it will actually be taller than the grass. If we weren't going to be moving next year, I think I'd eventually turn the whole side yard into garden.

Did I mention, the banana mint survived after all. Drat!

Also got tomato plants (roma, yellow pear), pepper plants (ancho, Caribbean hot), basil plants. Not sure where to put the tomatoes.

Spigotbottom turned 3 months yesterday. Wow! And getting cuter by the day.

Experimenting with pasting paper calligraphy pieces to boards-- treat recycled pine boards (left over from our deck being built) with gesso, paste on the paper, coat with acrylic medium and then acrylic varnish. The first one looks pretty cool. I'm a fan of big, thick gallery-wrapped canvases-- this has the same look without that pesky canvas.

I wrote a poem for Spigotbottom which I will treat in this way and hang in her room if it turns out ok:

Curiosity brings me questions
with answers I don't know
She finds closed doors and opens them
then loudly hollers, "whoa!"

previous next

Leave a note