powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Thursday, May. 27, 2010 - 7:58 a.m.

Went ahead with the strawberry jam. Did a no-pectin-added version with whole strawberries and a touch of Earl Grey (which you can't really taste unless you know it's there)-- it's delicious, but a little thin. I'm thinking waffles, pancakes, perhaps to glaze an intermediate cake (or cupcake) layer. Also works splendidly with yogurt.

It's gotten blessedly warm here. Summer! Summer! My squash are poised to sprint.

Filial snark break: Hah. As further evidence of my brother's continuously deteriorating intelligence, mom reports that he has declared Transformers his "favorite movie, except for Transformers 2". Regressing to adolescent fantasies of military exuberance. Fits in well with his other tastes, like the fact that his favorite band is *snicker* Nickleback. Seems like a 54 year old man ought to have more security in his masculinity than that, but what do I know. Of course, I snickered at his declaration re: Transformers, only to have mom asked me if I had seen them. The answer being no, she thought I was being unfair to him. Like I need to waste my own life in order to verify that he is indeed wasting his. Good ol' mom. Mom, I think you can acknowledge that your son has abysmal taste in entertainment and still love him, if that's what you want to do.

previous next

Leave a note