powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Friday, Oct. 01, 2010 - 6:12 p.m.

Today my mother asked me, in apparent seriousness, "so how are you spending your time these days?" I said, "Mom, perhaps you don't remember what it's like having an infant this age, but I'm pretty much spending all my time making sure Spigotbottom doesn't choke onrandom stuff she eats or electrocutes herself."

She then went on a kvetch (I guess you'd call it) about how she didn't worry about either of her kids sticking their fingers in an electric socket, and we both lived. Moreover that no one she ever heard of had a kid who actually died of self-electrocution.

So apparently I'm being too attentive of a parent for my mother's taste. I guess I should just leave her in the living room to go about her business while I go make jewelry, right?

"if you don't make jewelry, you can't make money, right? I guess it's a good thing J makes money!"

Yes, mom. Thanks.

previous next

Leave a note