powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Friday, Jan. 21, 2011 - 8:31 p.m.

I scored some cheap grapefruit at Walmart. I don't usually buy produce at Walmart, but we were there to replace the toaster oven and microwave (one of the downsides to having one of those weird combo units is when it goes, you now have to buy 2 appliances), and the grapefruit called to me. "Grapefruit marmalade!" it cried. Plus, Spigotbottom has not yet had grapefruit, so that was that.

Made 2 more jars of orange marmalade tonight. With Ceylon cinnamon, cardamom, and black pepper. Not sure about the set yet.

Spigotbottom has gotten very into books lately. Like, spending all morning bringing me book after book to read to her. Mostly the same 4 little Dr. Suess books, though. The Shape Of Me and Other Things, Hop on Pop, The Foot Book, and The Nose Book. And also Peek-A-Who. I'm so glad she loves books already, but. Ah, but.

She also came after me with a dirty sock today. Sock in one hand, book in the other, and bopped me in the face with them in rapid succession. This motherhood business is dangerous.

previous next

Leave a note