powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Saturday, Jan. 29, 2011 - 10:57 a.m.

The last marmalade didn't set. Am finally doing the grapefruit today; I bet it'll set, but I'm worried it will be bitter.

Tired. We had a period of sleeping through the night, which I regret squandering in Memphis, where it ceased due to various factors only resuming upon return home. It lasted for a week or so, and has been replaced by what I can only assume is a growth spurt-induced wake-up. She sometimes also doesn't want to take a second nap. Only you never know, so you can't really plan to do anything, because you don't want a cranky-ass baby when you're out and about. So you stay home, going stir crazy and waiting for her to take a nap, and she never does. Like last night, she woke up from a morning nap at 12:30, and didn't go to bed till 9 pm. Then woke at 5, then went back to sleep for a bit at 5:30, only to wake for the day at a quarter to 7-- not enough time for me to get back to sleep. All this means that my back hurts, I'm tired. Whine, whine, whine.

Growth spurts end, right? Right? At some point, for a week or two at least?

My toast is ready. No time to lose.

previous next

Leave a note