powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, Jan. 30, 2011 - 11:52 a.m.

Finished the batch of grapefruit marmalade just now. Even with the addition of baking soda, it was a bit bitter. Not so much so that I won't eat it, though. I have like 8 jars now, so I'd better like it. Not sure I can give it away, though. So, as I was saying, I'd better like it. (Reminds me of the old jokes about the Soviets: "You do X...and you like it.".) It's also got 5-spice, vanilla bean, and a shot of whiskey. Got to use my new Maslin pan for the first time-- excellent.

Spigotbottom used her name for me in vocative iteration for the first time today, agitating to get out of the highchair right when the marmalade was ready (of course). "Mommiemommiemommie!" She looked very pleased with herself.

previous next

Leave a note