powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, Feb. 14, 2011 - 4:08 p.m.

Made those chocolate rum cakes. One is for a friend. I had extra batter, so I ended up with more cake than I thought. End result: I have eaten one entire mini-loaf. I'd like to say I regret it, but I don't. Saying that is just a ritual. It was really good. I'll probably have more later. Hell yeah.

Been reading interviews with sculptors. They can be really interesting. One guy, I guess it was more about the business aspect than anything, but he had the most cynical outlook I've seen an artist confess to yet. He said success had nothing to do with how good you were, all that mattered was that your name be well known, because collectors just want autographs. And that for an artist to put stuff in galleries and hope to be discovered was like putting the art under your pillow and hoping for the Art Fairy to come. That was a funny line. And that it's a waste of time to hang around with other artists. Something about only getting "chump change" by having your work in galleries, too.

Probably all true.

I don't know why I'm so interested in sculpture these days. I could hardly pick a less profitable direction to go in, except maybe video installation art. I think I'm just still searching for a meaningful direction. The balance between making things others like and want and making things that are important and meaningful to me. Sometimes I want it to be Meaningful and Serious, other times I think it would be perfection if I could consistently make people feel happy when they look at it. I think the latter is underrated as an artistic goal.

previous next

Leave a note