powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, Apr. 25, 2011 - 1:03 p.m.

Happy to report that J and I, after discussing it upon his return yesterday, are on the same page wrt the advertising-to-kids nonsense. He points out though that if I were to bring up the topic right now with his parents, even in a roundabout way, they would notice immediately that I was commenting on the recent gift. So next time I happen to go shopping with them at a toy store, I can finesse my way into discussing the issue, but until then, barring some unforseen contextually appropriate opening, no go. And the flow chart is right out.

It's so hard not to be an asshole!

In Q's Easter basket I put some peanut butter shortbread (very low sugar! Reduced from 1/2 c. to 2 Tbs and it was plenty sweet enough) and some cranberry balls (boil down cranberries with orange juice and cinnamon; puree or smoosh; return to pan and cook until rather dry; add enough almond flour to make them pasty, roll into balls and toss in unsweetened coconut). She went nuts over them. Also hid eggs; I'm pleased to report that she got the hang of the egg hunt thing very quickly.

previous next

Leave a note