powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, May. 02, 2011 - 10:41 a.m.

So, they killed that guy.

I feel kind of non-excited about it. Am I glad? I'm glad he got something in the way of justice. Not like I wanted to see him living out his days in a mansion (even if it was a bit of a hellhole what with no internet and all. Oh, so you did know suffering there at the end, Bin Laden! No internet! Take that!), but not sure it really measures up to my ideals for the U.S.

I'm not sure what it'll do for the whole terrorism situation, which seems to have taken on a life of its own. Somewhat cynically, I can't help feeling happy about it for Obama, who despite his shortcomings is still my preferred candidate for 2012. This is the single best thing he could have done to help with his re-election. Part of me thinks, they should have captured him and put him on trial. Who knows, maybe that's what they were aiming for and he decided to fight back. Except that would be a whole clusterfuck, and this is much politically cleaner.

And I hear the markets are responding positively. Will we get cheaper gas out of all this for a little while? Will it bump us a little further out of the recession? Revitalize that whole united country thing we had going on for a couple of months there a decade ago? If yes, then on balance, I'd say it's a good thing.

previous next

Leave a note