powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Saturday, Jun. 04, 2011 - 6:49 a.m.

Tried to take Q to the pool yesterday-- the pool in the in-laws' hotel. She was terrified at being changed in their room, and terrified of the pool. The sight of her grandfather in the water? The sound of the room? (Very loud mechanical humming noises and bad acoustics). It was a no-go.

I haven't gotten as much done as I wanted to while they were here. Everyone always says they're going to watch Q while I work, and it never works out for them to do it for long. Maybe because every time she brings me a book, I have to read it to her. I'm a big softy that way. And apparently I am the only truly qualified book-reader because she always brings the books to me.

Ready for them to go home. The dissonance produced by their idiosyncracies and mine is building to that deafening roar I always experience. I can only pretend to be an adult for so long.

We have to go get my mom in Chicago today. Wish we had a parent-free day in between, but oh well.

Ah, there's Q, mumbling softly toward waketude.

previous next

Leave a note