powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, Aug. 22, 2011 - 1:29 p.m.

I need to get something to eat. The nap time is going to end soon. I've been working for the first hour and a half of it.

What I said last time may seem absurd to you. Of course I have to be a bit object-oriented-- I sell objects. And most artists are absorbed by their process to some degree. But I think the way serendipity plays out in my work is not an incidental fact. I just want to see what happens if I take this as a point of departure. Perhaps nothing good.

Am working on some new designs, getting my inventory back up. Will have to reorder metals soon, and I know that will hurt. (Prices have risen precipitously since my last order).

The jewelry artists I see featured on Art Jewelry Forum and associated galleries, my work is as interesting as many. I feel good about that. I've noticed some funny things, though. Lots of post earrings, but I sell very few posts myself (and am told no one buys posts). Also lots of pins, but no one wears pins any more, except perhaps for contemporary jewelry aficionados. Also, so much of the display at the shows they feature involves things being set flat on a table. Or hung unceremoniously on a wall. But you can't get into a retail art fair if that's your display setup.

Ah, contradictions, contradictions.

The leaves are doing best for me, but I want to do more abstract stuff. Can I get more sculptural? Can I bring the mosaic and dyed pieces back in a new incarnation, at a higher price point?

previous next

Leave a note