powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, Aug. 29, 2011 - 7:13 a.m.

My latest internet time-waster is Pinterest. People have 'pinned' all sorts of overly precious activities for their children (among other things; that's one topic I browse often).

Observations:
1. If you are printing an individual wraparound paper wrapper with a message on it for your child's sandwich, you have too much time on your hands. Go volunteer somewhere or something for Chrissake.

2. Ditto with bento boxes and sandwiches arranged to look like ladybugs or owls or whatever.

3. Lots of cutesy-poo ideas for making handprints and footprints into pictures. I thought about this for a present for grandparents, but it turns out that Q will not suffer stuff to be smeared upon her extremities. If the stuff is self-smeared, she will still not suffer her hand to be taken and placed ANYWHERE.

Q update: We're well into 2-word phrases now, mostly possessives (not personal, but stuff like Mommy's shoes, Daddy's shoes, Baby's/Q's shoes. Also with colors.

She likes to sit and read books to herself. She'll read through certain alphabet books several times in a row, pointing and talking through the whole thing.

She loves the iPad. A little too much.

She's kinda bossy. She likes to take my hand and make me do stuff. When I try to introduce a craft activity, that's usually what happens. I try to demonstrate the smearability of fingerpaint, and next thing you know, she's taking my hand, showing me what paint to dip it in and where to smear it. (For 2 minutes anyhow, until she gets up and walks away). Also when we're reading books, she'll grab my thumb and use it to point (particularly if I have been recalcitrant on going though the whole Correct And Proper Routine with the book-- by the 5th or 6th time through, I don't really want to count every f'ing thing on every page again, but That Will Not Do and she clearly indicates to me what I am to do.

previous next

Leave a note