powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, Aug. 31, 2011 - 4:34 p.m.

Another total toddler activity failure. I go to this website for toddler things to do. There's one involving the alphabet-- I think, great! Q likes the alphabet! So I print out and cut out the letters. From there the idea was that you tape the letters to yourself, tell the child that eek, you have letter bugs on you. Will they help you get them off? At that point I suppose the hypothetical toddler squeals in excitement and starts pulling them off you and sticking them to things, naming the letters delightedly all the while.

Q looked at me like I was nuts. I put the A on her arm. She said, "no, no", pulled it off and threw it on the floor. I said, "help me get the alphabet bugs off me!". She turned back to her electronic toy and ignored me thoroughly. So I pulled the rest of the damn letters off myself. Hope I don't have an R left on my butt or something.

previous next

Leave a note