powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, Oct. 02, 2011 - 7:26 a.m.

We went apple-picking yesterday. 17 lbs of apples, mostly Granny Smith and Rome because that's what was ready. Now I'm mired in indecision about what to make. Applesauce, of course-- that was the main point. But there is also pie and crisp and jam to consider. I could freeze apples for pie. That's a good idea.

We also bought a pumpkin. I was a bit underwhelmed at the pumpkin selection, frankly. It's hard not to be underwhelmed after one gets used to that place in Gnaw Bone. But, selection aside, there were no Hubbards, and that's what really matters to me. I think I'll be able to get a Hubbard at the farmers' market, though, so it may be ok after all.

There was a big feed trough full of dried corn for the kids to frolic in. Q did so. Good times.

previous next

Leave a note