powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Thursday, Nov. 17, 2011 - 3:00 p.m.

Made these chocolate ginger cookies yesterday. (From Vanillagarlic, google it if you want the recipe). Holy hell are they good. I froze a bunch of them to share at Thanksgiving, and just ate the rest. Sorry, J, I did. But now they're gone and we don't have to worry about them any more until next week when I thaw the others.

So I have this paper in sort of ugly colors, I believe I've mentioned it here before. A bunch in kraft and a bunch in a sort of orange-tinted kraft. Not a 'bunch'. A ream. A freakin' ream of each. Bad purchasing decision. I didn't realize the orange is as ugly as it would turn out to in fact be. It's good quality paper, though. Anyway, I want to silkscreen something on it, but I don't know what. Angry tracts? Happy tracts? Informational tracts? Wordless homages? What will I do with these things I will print? I don't know, but that's what I've been thinking about.

I also have a ream of brick red cardstock. It deserves to be printed on, too.

I've been thinking about zines again. Maybe I should silkscreen a little zine until the paper is all gone. But that again raises the question of, what?

I thought I might do a jewelry zine. You know, a zine that can be turned into jewelry. A jewelry-shaped zine. That would be funny, and possibly interesting, but I'm not sure I trust myself to do it right. And the paper I have wouldn't be good for more than a couple of issues. Kraft paper would get old quick. One would want more pizzazz than it has to offer.

There are these organizations that use guerilla marketing-type techniques to get people thinking about body image and media messages and whatnot. I could do something like that, but with a topic of my choice. Civics education, for example. ("It was no taxation without representation that those folks were after: we _are_ represented now, you ninnies, and we need taxation to pay for stuff.") But everything I think of seems a bit heavy-handed. As you can see.

So, yeah.

previous next

Leave a note