powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, Nov. 27, 2011 - 3:27 p.m.

[2nd entry for today! Don't miss the earlier one!]

Also, people keep asking me if I think my mom will be a big help with Q when she gets here. I think the answer is no. Maybe some help, but not a big help. She tends to just sit there and watch me do stuff. But she does clean my kitchen and sweep, so that's something.

I talked to my Swahili conversation pal yesterday. She has self-discipline even in leisure. She likes to play the guitar. She made a rule for herself that when she gets home at the end of the (long) day, she will play at least one song, whether she thinks she feels lie it or not. And she does it. And usually she goes on to play more, because she does enjoy it. And in any case, she has not failed. Discipline even in leisure. I do so admire her.

previous next

Leave a note