powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, Jan. 09, 2012 - 6:40 a.m.

Despite having been at a bit of a creative high point when I left, 2 weeks of near-complete inactivity has left it difficult for me to get it going again. My studio is a mess. I really want to get it in order for the new year, but it's right across from Q's room and the only time I have to work on it is when she's sleeping, when I am afraid to do much banging around lest I wake her.

I made a list of goals for the year. Some are lofty. Get work into 10 new galleries? I dunno. Organizing the studio is also on there, I guess that's where I'll start.

It's also time to make marmalade. The oranges are ripe. This is what I moved here for, after all!

Some person contacted me about interviewing me for a blog on entrepreneurship. I said yes, because hey! It's an opportunity to get myself out there in one more place on the web. But secretly, I think I am a lousy person to interview about entrepreneurship. Maybe I should try self-conceiving as an entrepreneur rather than artist sometimes, maybe that would help me whip my business into shape. But I'm going to do the thing any real entrepreneur would do: do the interview for the exposure (such as it may be), bullshitting a little if necessary.

I am still obsessed with the new shapes. Yesterday when I was trying to sleep, I kept envisioning them as large sculptures. I don't know how to do that. I don't know why they appeal to me. I have nothing to say about them. They represent nothing. I am not trying to evoke anything with them. I think that's ok for now, but eventually I'll have to have something to say about them if I want to keep making them.

My oldest, dearest friend is going to single-handedly drive my mom's car out here at the end of the month. I am super excited.

previous next

Leave a note