powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Friday, Feb. 24, 2012 - 6:43 a.m.

Took Q to the story hour at the library yesterday. First time. She didn't know what the hell was going on with everyone standing and clapping and singing. She protested by singing Jingle Bells loudly and nearly starting to cry. Poor thing. All the other kids seemed to know what they were supposed to do (benefits of daycare, I assume), and there she was like a little lost thing. We had to leave for a while.

(Jingle Bells is her new protest song. When people get to close in the playground, too, she sings Jingle Bells and waves her hands around, where previously she would just go "AAAAA!!!!" and wave her hands around. The effect is comical, which I don't think is what she necessarily intends, if she intends anything in particular).

I felt a little embarrassed (people are going to think I keep her in a box, or that there's something wrong with her!), but also, like, well, wonder where she gets that from. It was like seeing a very small me. Of course, that particular trait (standing there looking lost until I figure out what's going on) has never served me particularly well, so. Anyway. I'll take her back whenever we get the chance so she'll get the hang of it. That's all it is. But another part of me really likes that she doesn't just jump into whatever everyone else is doing. The whole "All my peers are doing this so I guess it's the thing to do" urge is missing. That aspect of it really has served me well.

What you want is to look like you know what's going on even if you don't, and find strategies to stall until you can properly evaluate the situation. Appearing to read a book in the corner is great for this!

Two consecutive days of no nursing. Hurrah! That happened quickly. It was only about 2 weeks ago that I started making a concerted effort to get her down for a nap with no nursing (she was nursing upon waking and upon sleeping, so 3-4 times/day, which was getting really old 2 years in). She still asks for milk, but doesn't persist much and doesn't get upset when I politely ignore her. So, yay!

We got her a potty, too. There's a period of familiarization, I'm told. She's excited about the potty (it is in the shape of a frog, and she chose it), but what she does is one of the following: puts a rubber duck in it or stands on it. Suggestions that she sit have been thoroughly ignored.

Ok, enough child update.

Still no one has looked at my new items. I've signed up for a featured ad. Hopefully that'll do it.

Got a wide selection of Assam samples in my last tea order. Today, Nahorhabi. Remember how Nahorhabi used to be my favorite? Today I find it a little less assertive than I would like. I guess because it's a first flush. The dry leaf smells divine, though. I wish I had a perfume that smelled just like Nahorhabi FTGFOP1.

previous next

Leave a note