powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, Feb. 26, 2012 - 6:02 a.m.

My next doctor's appointment is Thursday morning. It can't come soon enough as far as I'm concerned. Developing some anxiety and preemptive pessimism about the situation. There was more I wanted to write about it, but why? You can probably guess. There is nothing surprising about my fears. They are groundless. All hopes and fears are groundless at this point. I have no source of evidence one way or another. May as well use the Magic 8 Ball to tell me how it's going.

Bad sleep lately. I think our mattress is not as comfortable as it once was.

Mom is coming down today for a few days. She's finding living with her brother a bit boring. He doesn't do much. I hope when I am 85, should I live that long, I don't just sit around and wait. Think of all the older people who do this-- seems like most of them, sometimes-- if they all went and volunteered at a school once a week, or something? The good they could do. Even my mom, who does like to be a little more active, doesn't think in those terms. It's kinda weird. Instead they just sit around and watch Seinfeld reruns. (Well, my aunt did, and my uncle does. By now my mother has seen enough of Seinfeld. She would prefer some current primetime TV).

previous next

Leave a note