powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Saturday, Mar. 17, 2012 - 7:06 a.m.

Yesterday evening I made these simple biscuits-- the kind with just self-rising flour and cream. Thought it would be a good recipe to get Q involved in.

Me: Hey, Q, come help me make biscuits! [repeat 3 times]. Here, can you pour this [cream] into the flour?

Q gets down from stepstool, retrieves a spoon, comes back and starts eating the cream.

Me: Uh, no, don't eat it! It needs to go in there. We're making biscuits! Oh, never mind. [I pour the cream in myself]

[If I had had more cream this wouldn't have been a big deal, but I barely had enough as it was).

Now can you stir--

Q immediately turns the spoon to the barely-mixed flour-and-cream mixture. I stir like crazy. She keeps at it. I move the operation to another counter. I pat out the biscuits and put them on the baking sheet, and she comes up trying to spoon the raw, formed biscuits.

This is the problem with cooking with Q.

previous next

Leave a note