powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Friday, Apr. 06, 2012 - 6:21 a.m.

The bad mood didn't last that long. Q had a good long nap; park, then supper (a beef curry).

I have a number of Easter things that need to happen today. Dyeing eggs! Making and decorating cookies! (Should I make royal icing, or just my usual buttery glaze?). Macarons! I'm tired just thinking about it all.

Oh, I went to the garden place and bought a bunch of plants yesterday. You'd be proud; I managed to put back a peppermint I don't really need. (I still think I might need it. But I don't have anywhere to put it, so.) Lemon balm (because what is spring without lemon balm?), lemon verbena (because one lemon-smelling plant is not enough), two kinds of basil, which will totally be worth the money if I can keep them from dying, and another oregano. And here's the true folly: two tomato plants, a 6-pack of cayenne chiles, and a yellow squash. There's a gigantic cactus planter out front that if I emptied out all the crappy soil, moved to somewhere where it doesn't get afternoon sun, and put good soil in, would be great for a tomato and some peppers. Other than that, the only real option is the little patch of grass in back (which also gets full sun, and is totally unprepped for garden use), or the little patch of nothing near the carport (gets some afternoon shade, but also has totally useless soil that barely sustains weeds). Makes me wish I hadn't left our shovel in Indiana.

previous next

Leave a note