powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, May. 09, 2012 - 6:10 a.m.

The potty training was a total bust. The first two times I tried to move her to the potty when she was peeing, she cried and hollered and protested being interfered with. Passionately. So we suspended operations for the time being lest we inadvertently cripple future efforts with negative conditioning.

Then we went to Costco, where I bought a lot of fruit.

I'll say this about Costco-- the prices on the fruit aren't always competetive, and you have to choose wisely because the quality can be iffy (it can also be very good if you get the things in season; the mangoes right now are sensational). But I've eaten a lot more fruit as a result. It's funny; I can't bring myself to buy that many, say, apples at a time in a grocery store, even at the same per-pound price. But at Costco, into the cart they go in their big weird plastic packaging, and then we eat them all. And the strawberries, and the mango, and the tomatoes, and apricots, and the bananas. And the watermelon. (I'm running a bit behind with the kiwi, though, I admit.)

Resisted buying the 25 lb bag of flour, though, even though I just finished using one up. I noticed it's from Con-Agra. I suppose a lot of what I eat is Con-Agra, but I couldn't bring myself to buy it. Even though it's like .29/lb. Back to the organic flour bin at the co-op for me.

I was disappointed that they did not have Steak-Ums. I've been on a bit of a Steak-Ums kick lately.

previous next

Leave a note