powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, May. 21, 2012 - 5:52 a.m.

We were totally unaware of the eclipse until it was upon us, and then we were unprepared to view it properly, so. Opportunity missed.

Went and got Ballyhoo yesterday for a visit. He's still losing weight, still having diarrhea, still acting tired. Within 5 minutes of being in the house, he pooped on the floor. Out he went again. I feel like a jerk; he's sick, obviously, maybe he won't still be around this time next month. I should be snuggling him and making him comfortable. But dammit, I don't have time to clean cat crap up off my floor. I just don't. I am done with that. I love my cat, and I know it's not his fault, but dammitall. (This is why I never went into nursing despite everyone's recommendations.)

In-laws are coming today. 2 things I must do before they arrive: vacuum Q's room, and put the Easter basket away somewhere.

In culinary news, I made lentil granola. It's pretty good. You par-cook red lentils, mix them with your butter and honey and cinnamon, and then bake a little before mixing everything else in. By the end of it, they're dried out and crunchy. Nice. Not that I have anything against oats, but lentils are awesome.

Also infused some butter with orange spice tea. It's destined for shortbread. Am looking forward to it.

previous next

Leave a note